When It’s Real by Erin Watt ARC Review

OMG you guys!!!!

I loved this story, I honestly, one hundred percent loooooooooved this book!!!

Okay, so a little background.

Erin Watt, if you don’t know by now, is the author (authors, it’s two people writing as Erin Watt) of the widely popular series, The Royals.

Back in 2016 I had the opportunity to get an Advance Reader’s Copy of Twisted Palace and now again I had been selected among many bloggers to read and give an honest review of their new upcoming story, When It’s Real.

I was very surprised of how much I loved this book since I’ve been through the worst reading slump of my life, so when I got it I felt like it was not going to click with me, but oh it did!

Here is what the book is all about:

Meet Oakley Ford-teen celebrity, renowned pop star, child of famous movie stars, hottie with millions of fangirls… and restless troublemaker. On the surface he has it all, but with his home life disintegrating, his music well suddenly running dry, and the tabloids having a field day over his outrageous exploits, Oakley’s team decides it’s time for an intervention. The result: an image overhaul, complete with a fake girlfriend meant to show the world he’s settled down.

Enter seventeen-year-old Vaughn Bennett-devoted sister, part-time waitress, the definition of “normal.” Under ordinary circumstances she’d never have taken this gig, but with her family strapped for cash, she doesn’t have much of a choice. And for the money Oakley’s team is paying her, she figures she can put up with outlandish Hollywood parties and a team of publicists watching her every move. So what if she thinks Oakley’s a shallow, self-centered jerk? It’s not like they’re going to fall for each other in real life…right?

Well to be honest with you with just having the name Erin Watt I knew I wanted to read it, but after that description I wanted to read it even more.

I was not disappointed of how amazing I thought it was going to be!!

From the moment I first opened the file, I was very impressed by just the way it started, so When It’s Real got 4.5 stars out of 5 in my rating book.

You might be wondering, why 4.5 instead of 5 if I loved it so much?

Well I’ll explain in a bit, but first, why I loved it so much.

Everything about the story was good, from the way the situation was created to how it all fell into place. Okay I’ll explain a little better, from the moment you read why Oakley needed a fake girlfriend you knew what was going to happen, the fake, would become real, and it had to be proven that it was real, you know what I mean?

I don’t want to give too much away because I don’t want to spoil it for you. Like I said, even though I already had a good idea of how this story was going to end, there was no chapter or paragraph that I found boring, which has happened a lot lately for me. I have found myself skipping through chapters, and just kind of reading, but When It’s Real brought real reading back for me.

I can’t say I hated anything about this story, but I did give it a 4.5 just because it was something that I already knew the ending to. I didn’t know exactly with which words it was going to end or anything like that, but I knew the general direction of where the story was heading. Still that didn’t stop me from enjoying the road to getting there.

Oakley was a funny character that I wish could be real and Vaughn kept him grounded and showed that not because he was a big time star it meant that he could have whatever he wanted whenever he wanted it.

 

The interaction between both main characters was great and even though they are both teenagers, they have gone through some rough situations in very different ways, but that helped them be mature for their age and that is what I liked the most.

I have often read young adult books where the main couple are not even out of high school and they swear their love is forever and that they will forever be together. While in high school we might  feel that way, but not very many people are lucky enough to end up with their high school sweetheart. That cliche has bother me for sometime lately because is very not realistic, still I have to remind myself that it’s just a fictional story and that it is not real.

 

But with When It’s Real I felt like it could really be real, you know? It can be real for the moment.

The way Oak and Vaughn feel for one another in the story can be long lasting, not forever, but for a short forever (you know what I mean?). The story felt real for the situation of the characters and that is all I’m asking for as a reader. Something that is relatable, something that doesn’t completely seem too out there that stops being contemporary and seems more like far away fantasy.

All in all this book was complete, it had funny moments, serious moments, moments that made me want to shed a tear and it was told in dual point of view which lately it’s kind of my favorite thing.

I would completely recommend When It’s Real because it was a real pleasure to read it.

When It’s Real comes out May 30th and you should pre-order now.

Also if you pre-order you can fill out this form and you will get a little gift so what is not to love?

You can also read a few quotes from this awesome story, from my previous post, Teaser Tuesday.

Let me know when you read it what you thought of it, if you loved it as much as I did.

Find me on Facebook or Twitter!

2 thoughts on “When It’s Real by Erin Watt ARC Review

Leave a Reply

