The Best Kind of Magic author Crystal Cestari Q&A

If you don’t know, I’ve recently been getting a few (very many) Advance Reader’s Copies  and I love that, the first book I was granted to read was The Best Kind of Magic by Crystal Cestari.

From the get go that story captivated my attention and I was so glad I got to read it that even after a little over a month since I’ve read it I can’t stop thinking about it.

The author of this book sent me a physical book for you guys to win and she also agreed to do a little Questions and Answers about the book and her writing process so here it is:

Q: What was the inspiration behind creating a magical character that the only magic they had was to see other people’s soulmates?
A: I love love stories, and I’ve always been drawn to worlds with a hint of magic (my favorite show of all time is Buffy the Vampire Slayer). I wondered what it would be like if you could actually see true love, and your head was filled with nothing but romance and happy endings all day. Would it be amazing, or could there be a downside to a non-stop love fest? A lot of supernatural characters eventually struggle with their magical gift, and Amber is no different. She wholeheartedly believes in love, but fears she’ll never find it for herself: this was the catalyst for the story.
 
Q: What was your favorite part about writing The Best Kind of Magic?
A: Amber’s voice came to me fast and furious. When I first got the idea, I wrote the first three chapters in one sitting. Amber is so funny, confident, and strong; she gets all the sassy one-liners I could never say in real life! But I also loved playing with the struggle between fate and choice; Amber spent most of her life believing that life’s journey is written in the stars, only to find out that may or may not not be true.
 
Q: If Amber could have any other magical power what do you think she would choose?
A: Even though Amber’s a matchmaker, she doesn’t exactly have a heart of gold; I bet she’d choose invisibility to pull pranks on her enemies (of which she has quite a few!).
Q: If YOU could have any magical power what would it be?
A:Teleportation!
I love to travel and explore new places, but have been cursed with motion sickness, making the actual act of traveling tricky. If I could just grab a portkey or floo powder to get around, that’d be ideal.
Q: Is there a playlist  for the Best Kind of Magic?
A: I don’t usually listen to music while writing, because I often get distracted and start singing along, but several scenes are heavily influenced by particular songs.
While writing the ’50s-inspired dance party scene at Navy Pier, I listened to “Dance With Me Tonight” by Olly Murs on repeat. Now I can’t listen to it without thinking about Amber and Charlie!
Q: And lastly, anything you want to say to the readers about the book that would get them excited to read it?
A: Someone once described this story as “Emma meets Harry Potter“,  a combination that completely melts my fangirl heart. If you like light, funny adventures mixed with romance and a pinch of fairies, vampires, witches, and cupcakes, spend some time with Amber Sand: your friendly neighborhood matchmaker.

The Best Kind of Magic comes out May 16 and you can pre-order here.
Read my review here.
Follow Crystal on Instagram or Twitter for updates on the book.
Follow me on Facebook for a Special ARC giveaway!
2 thoughts on “The Best Kind of Magic author Crystal Cestari Q&A

  1. Saskia Castro says:

    Wow… I loved this interview and now I’m intrigued. I’ve always thought you decide who to love and this book goes in the same line, I think 🙈. Looking forward to read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

