magicedit

The Best Kind of Magic by Crystal Cestari ARC Review

***Book provided for an Honest review.

Lately I’ve been lucky enough to get to read books that haven’t come out, you know, Advance Reader Copies. All of this is thanks to this blog and you guys that keep reading my stuff and clicking the link and maybe buying some of those books.

This time I was super happy when the Disney-Hyperion group approved me to read The Best Kind of Magic by Crystal Cestari.

When I first saw the cover I knew I wanted to get it ASAP and then I read the description and I knew I had to read it. So I did the only thing I could do at that moment, request the book.

Earlier this month I got an email telling me that I had been approved to read that book and I almost crashed (was driving and I opened the email. BAD IDEA. Don’t do that you guys, using your phone while driving is dangerous and it can have fatal consequences). But once I saw that email I was super happy and I went to download it to my kindle.

Then I made the bad decision of waiting a bit because I still had to finish some other books that I had already started so the book just sat untouched in my Kindle for like two weeks (awfulness 😱). But I finally started to read that book, and it took me about a day to finish it. Right then and there you know I loved it.

Here is what I’m talking about:

thebestkindofmagic

Amber Sand is not a witch. The Sand family Wicca gene somehow leapfrogged over her. But she did get one highly specific magical talent: she can see true love. As a matchmaker, Amber’s pretty far down the sorcery food chain (even birthday party magicians rank higher), but after five seconds of eye contact, she can envision anyone’s soul mate.

Amber works at her mother’s magic shop–Windy City Magic–in downtown Chicago, and she’s confident she’s seen every kind of happy ending there is: except for one–her own. (The Fates are tricky jerks that way.) So when Charlie Blitzman, the mayor’s son and most-desired boy in school, comes to her for help finding his father’s missing girlfriend, she’s distressed to find herself falling for him. Because while she can’t see her own match, she can see his–and it’s not Amber. How can she, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows full well isn’t her match?

The Best Kind of Magic is set in urban Chicago and will appeal to readers who long for magic in the real world. With a sharp-witted and sassy heroine, a quirky cast of mystical beings, and a heady dose of adventure, this novel will have you laughing out loud and questioning your belief in happy endings.

I mean right then and there you know this will be good.

fivestars

The Best Kind of Magic got a 5 out of 5 frozen stars on my book (yes frozen stars are better because they are special, and only the books that get five out of five get them).

When you first open the book and start reading, it seems a little genetic, you know Amber telling you she is not a witch and how high (or low) she ranks in the witch and mythological world and what she does with her magic. But after that is all sweetness and unicorns.

Literally.

Amber loves sugar and unicorns.

Amber sees people’s soulmates, not creepy, not dangerous, just sweet and charming. But then she gets involved with this kid, Charlie, who wants his dad, the mayor, to not find his fiance. The major asked Amber’s mom, and actual powerful witch to help him find her because he loves her, but Charlie thinks she is a gold digger.

magic

Amber knows she is not a witch therefore she can’t just find the mayor’s fiance like her mom would so instead of asking for her mom’s help, she, Charlie and Amani create their own adventure trying to figure out where the fiance is and in the process learn more about themselves.

Amber learns that Charlie has a soulmate and finally meets her best friend’s soulmate. Charlie learns about mythical creatures and falls in love for the first time. Amani finally meets her soulmate and in some ways starts to actually deal with her power.

What I liked about TBKOM is that  the drama is at a bare minimum. There was the classic bad high school girls, but this time they were being lead by an actual siren. Also there were other creatures in school and somehow being a witch or a matchmaker or a mythological creature wasn’t something people really freaked out about.

Also there were no real life threatening events. It was all very normal, very human and relatable story of two young people falling in love.

magicedit

The reason it has five frozen stars is because it is a romantic novel that is real. Aside from the magic part of things. It’s just realistic, the way love develops and how we as humans learn to express it and deal with it.

The Best Kind of Magic is full of sense of humor and charm and it’s just the perfect kind of book that keeps you reading and reading not wanting to stop and leaves you with a smile on your face. The perfect book to read whenever you feel down or want an easy, fast and lovely story.

Amber, Charlie and the Windy City Magic are more than a romantic teenage story. This book is not  only about falling in love, but knowing from the get go that it is not meant to be.

And then Charlie is just fantastic so it would be hard to not fall for him even if Amber knows he is not her match. And he is adorable, with the glasses and saying all the right things. So yes I loved him and all he represents.

ycqmusu

 

This book I have to say ends on a cliffhanger and it’s not that bad,  but still it makes you want to have the next book in your hands ASAP.

The Best Kind of Magic comes out May 16 and you can already preorder this awesomeness here.

Follow Crystal Cestari here.

Thanks again to Netgalley and Disney-Hyperion for providing this book for me to review, it was so awesome and I cannot wait to read the next.

Leave a Reply

