Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum (Review)

Hello everyone!

I know it’s been weeks since I’ve posted anything and I apologies for that!

The reason I have not been very active on social media or here on the blog is because I was visiting the beaches of Mexico and some family. I just wanted to enjoy life before coming back to the cold Nebraska weather and I really didn’t have much time to do anything, but eat, visit, and enjoy the nice weather (yes be jealous!).

Anyhow, while I was vacationing I didn’t have much time to read, but the few books I read were amazing and I wish I could write reviews for each one, but I’m not the best reviewer so I’ll just stick to reviewing one of them.

The book I enjoyed the most while on vacation is, Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum and I’m telling you it was AMAZING!

Here is the description:

V23 new typeface tagline.indd

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Doesn’t it sound awesome?

Well it is!

I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars just because it was a tiny bit predictable.

4-half-stars

Okay, when I bought this book, I bought it because it sounded good and I just wanted to buy books because I had some extra money. I was excited to read it because it just looked like an easy read and something I would like. But still it took me a few weeks to actually pick it up and read it.

But once I did I could not put it down. Tell Me Three Things is the kind of book that brings a smile to your face and gives you hope. I felt this book was mostly about bringing hope and showing you how friendship and love comes from the most unexpected places and at the most unexpected time.

Yes in a way it’s a bit dangerous to trust an email from a stranger and stuff, but it’s fiction and we all should understand that and love it for it being fiction.  In real life it would probably never work because of all that we’ve been told about not trusting anything from the internet.

tellmethreeedit

Regardless, the idea of a romance developing from something as simple as an email is pretty awesome. Also it wasn’t like that creepy or anything, I mean yes is weird to have someone tell you what they saw you wearing or that they liked something you said without you knowing who it is, but the mystery is something that makes you want to have something like that in real life.

Then I loved the entire idea of the cover. You see, the cover is heart shaped waffles right? Well there is this scene in the book where they are emailing each other and they are talking about their favorite words and in that scene you realize why the waffles are part of the cover. It is a very sweet moment and when it clicks it brings a smile to your face. Pretty cool.

Also the three things is a very sweet thing the Somebody/Nobody person has with Jessie that they just tell each other three things about themselves and that is how they start their conversation everyday, which I thought was unique and pretty sweet!

Over all this read is fantastic, it has you wondering who is the guy emailing Jessie until the very end, because you might think is someone and then you find reasons why it cannot be that someone, and so on. You literally find out who the guy is until the very end of the book which was my favorite part of it all.

Have you read Tell Me Three Things?  or anything by the author?

Let me know what you thought about them!

Facebook 

Twitter

Leave a Reply

