Books to read over break

With festivities around us, most of us will probably have a few days off work, or school or both and with that, there will be more time to read.

There will be perfect weather (depending on where you live, I live in the Midwest and the cold seems to have settle in finally) and there will be time to focus on things like finishing a book we’ve been trying to read or start a series.

I don’t have a list of books for the fall or that are perfect for fall because that’s when they take place, but I do have a few recommendations of fast paced books that are amazing and that could probably help you reach your Goodreads goal or get closer to it.

Also just because these books are pretty awesome and deserve to be read and love by all of us.

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Tumblr

Tumblr

Well, Onyx is one of my favorite books in the Lux series and it’s written by one of my favorite authors so her books are always going to be part of my lists. But this one is special because they talk about Thanksgiving break, and Christmas and is so festive that it’s perfect to read during the holidays and breaks.

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last?

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Goodreads

Goodreads

When looking for an easy, fast and amazing read any of Stephanie Perkins novels could be the book you are looking for. Isla and the Happily Ever After though, is a book that has a love story that develops through the years, is not an easy love story and definitely not all rainbows and unicorns, but it’s a book that you could probably finish within a day. Is amazing.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Goodreads

Goodreads

Everything, Everything is such a perfect book, I know that the description is sort of like  it might be a sad book with a really sad ending, but no. There is a huge plot twist, and the way the love story develops it’s just what every contemporary book needs.

It’s just the perfect book to cuddle to during a school break or work break, or you just want to read a good contemporary book. Everything, Everything is definitely your book.

Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander

Charlie Hanson has a clear vision of his future. A senior at Brighton School of Mathematics and Science, he knows he’ll graduate, go to MIT, and inevitably discover solutions to the universe’s greatest unanswered questions. He’s that smart. But Charlie’s future blurs the moment he reaches out to touch the tattoo on a beautiful girl’s neck.

The future has never seemed very kind to Charlotte Finch, so she’s counting on the present. She’s not impressed by the strange boy at the donut shop—until she learns he’s a student at Brighton where her sister has just taken a job as the English teacher. With her encouragement, Charlie orchestrates the most effective prank campaign in Brighton history. But, in doing so, he puts his own future in jeopardy.

By the time he learns she’s ill—and that the pranks were a way to distract Ms. Finch from Charlotte’s illness—Charlotte’s gravitational pull is too great to overcome. Soon he must choose between the familiar formulas he’s always relied on or the girl he’s falling for (at far more than 32 feet per second squared).

Goodreads

Goodreads

This book is so easy to read and is so cute and it’s so sad too. Love and Other Unknown Variables is the type of book that you could read within a day and sometimes that is what you need. Yes it is sad, but for the most part the book is funny and it’s full of wit and love doesn’t hit you in the face from the get go so it’s perfect.

All these books have a really nice, very easy to read story. But not because it’s an easy to follow story line it means it will not affect you in some level. All of them have a little something that will make you scream, and probably cry a little for how much they’ll hit you in the feels.

Like I said, they are not “books to read in the fall,” but they are damn good to read during a break.

Let me know what you guys think of them if you’ve read any of them, or which books you plan to read during the Thanksgiving break (assuming you live in the states, otherwise tell me what books you’ll be reading during your none break time lol) if any at all.

Read you guys later.

2 thoughts on “Books to read over break

  1. saddkl says:

    Ana, this is such an amazing blog site! This is the first time I’ve been able to get to it! I love love love love it! Your site is awesome, and I love the layout of your blogs! This blog post was helpful! I need to start reading more again, and I have a feeling if I ever need a good book I can come here to find one for sure! Keep up the amazing work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment