The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (book review)

Holy Crap you guys.

If you follow my Facebook page, you must have seen a photo that I shared Sunday about me reading The Sun is Also a Star, I literally started it right after I posted the photo and I finished it that night.

It was that good!

In the past three months I have been struggling to get through books, you can say the reading slum has settled even though I have tried everything I always do to overcome them.

Not saying that my reading slump is over, but thanks to this book I want to read again even though my schedule is crazy (school is crazy right now).

I loved this book so much, but let the description speak for itself.

Here it is:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? 

Entertainment Weekly

Entertainment Weekly

This book deserves a five out of five stars just with that description.

Doesn’t it?

Well, in my book it got that!

This book was so cute and I feel like I read it just at the right time.

With all that is happening in the country right now with elections and stuff, The Sun is Also a Star is a great book to remind us that hope is there even when you think the shine of it has extinguished.

Most of the story takes place in mere hours. It’s one of those romantic stories that you would hate if the main couple fell in love within one day, but in this one even though it was all in one day, you could still see that it took time. It’s just different.

sundayreadeditquote

It does have sweeter quotes, but this book is cynical in a way that fallows all the clichés we would tipically hate but makes them work.

And I don’t know, I feel like this quote is more suitable for how I feel about the book. Is not the in your face kind of love or way too sweet, it’s just observable facts, just like this quote.

Daniel and Natasha’s story was too short lived and fast paced, but it was wonderful. They meet and then they go through the awkward stage of “stalking” and then the weird  stage of sort of liking each other, but not knowing if it’s real or not, then the family confrontations. Then a really special date that ends in disaster, then the fall out and then the goodbye.

Believe me, everything might have happened in one day, but it was a hell of a day.

The characters are not your typical characters. We are used to the girl that doesn’t believe she is pretty, the bad boy, or the other way around. We are so used to not reading about racial problems and different race characters (at least I am) I mean they are part of the books don’t get me wrong, but more often than not they are not the main character and this book changes all that.

Both Daniel and Natasha are from two different races, Korean and Jamaican so right there you can see that this book is going to be different.

It’s told in dual point of view which was perfect and also there are some sort of passages throughout that go in to explain things like history of something, how something happened the way it happened and why people are the way they are. Hard to explain, but if you read this book you’ll know what I’m talking about.

This book was different and it totally fulfilled my expectations, because Nicola Yoon’s debut novel Everything, Everything was wonderful and  The Sun is Also a Star had big shoes to fill.

I got nothing more to say you guys, go read this book. It is fantastic you will thoroughly enjoy it if you love contemporary and even if you are feeling down, this book would probably cheer you up.

The end is not what you expect, is definitely  not a happy ending, but also is not sad, I’ll just leave it at that. You are going to love it.

Go read this book, serious, you’ll love it.

3 thoughts on “The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (book review)

Leave a Reply

