A Court of Mist and Fury book review

A few weeks back I wrote about how not to finish a book and I  mentioned to you that I was trying really hard not to finish A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas because there is still months to wait for the third book to come out.

The thing is, I couldn’t resist. I had to finish it and Oh. My. God. I made a huge mistake.

I just… this is too much for my heart to handle right now. There are so many feels going around my head that I just can’t!

Anyway, since I finished the book I feel like now that I have a proper blog, I should give my humble opinion of what I think of this book.

So here is the description:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

 

Amazon

Amazon

Well if you know anything about books that just smash it, this book is one of them.

First book came out last year and it was a retell of the Beauty and the Beast, which had me skeptical about reading it because, that story is not as appealing to me as others, but I still gave it a try.

It was surprisingly amazing and I just couldn’t put it down.

Once I finished A Court of Thorns and Roses the wait for ACOMAF wasn’t long, but it still felt like hell.

I don’t know how Maas comes up with such amazing compelling stories, but man keep them coming.

Okay, my thoughts on ACOMAF.

What can I say?

That it was amazing?

That I was not really expecting that?

That I feel in love with Rhys as so did Feyre?

I did.

All of the above.

quote

To begin with I wasn’t really sure how I felt that Tamlin wasn’t really part of the story. Honestly, I was looking forward to see how their “love” really developed, because in ACOTAR we sort of saw little glimpses and stuff, to me it was more about him being a High Lord and her being the human that had to pay for what she’d done (no spoilers just in case you have been living under a rock and haven’t read this series).

We did see a little of romance and the primitive way to show “love.” But then it all went down the drain and well we found the story going into the direction that the Beauty and the Beast goes into, you know, the beast being in danger and Belle running to him.

It obviously didn’t happen just like the Disney story, because then it wouldn’t be as good.

 

“What got under my skin,” Rhys said, his breathing a bit uneven, “is that you smiled at him.”

The rest of the world faded to mist as the words sank in. “You are jealous.”

He shook his head, stalking to the little table against the far wall and knocking back a glass of amber liquid. He braced his hands on the table, the powerful muscles of his back quivering beneath his shirt as the shadow of those wings struggled to take form.

“I heard what you told him,” he said. “That you thought it would be easy to fall in love with him. You meant it, too.”

“So?” It was the only thing I could think of to say.

“I was jealous-of that. That I’m not… that sort of person. For anyone. The summer Court has always been neutral; they only showed backbone during those years Under the Mountain.

“So, yes, I was jealous of him-because it will always be easy for him. And he will never know what it is to look up at the night sky and wish.”

In ACOTAR we get introduced to this sort of not trustworthy Fae that at the same time we cannot help but trust his good intentions. It’s all a mess I know.

But with ACOMAF is all about Ferye. It’s about her finding where she belongs, finding her passion to keep living.

I mean, yes we get all this war thing going on, but is still mostly about how Ferye is going to live this new life that has been granted to her.

Rhysand takes her to the Night Court and there she starts to develop real friendships, to see for the first time what family is really all about, because if you remember right her family didn’t really feel like a family.

I give this book five out of five stars because it was way more than I expected. It was a roller-coaster of feelings, it was funny, there was adventure, danger, romance, unity, secrets, well there was everything a good book has.

I really don’t know what’s going to happen in the next book but I’m sure is going to be very interesting and Ferye and Rhys story will keep getting better and better.

What do you guys think of this one story?

Let me know what you guys thought of the book!

4 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury book review

  1. Fatima Khan says:

    I fell in love with ACOMAF too! If it weren’t for my inability to abandon a series after the first book I may not have read it. It’s not that I hated ACOTAR, it just read like a standalone until the end- and I was low key Rhysand trash from the beginning lol. ACOMAF was full of imagery of the stars I absolutely adored (because hipster things lol) and the NIght Court was unlike anything I’d ever read before. That was all besides Feysand and the squad goals that was the Court of Dreams (eep!). I also tried to slow my reading down with this one because when it ended I died- had to read it over again twice AND start the Throne of Glass series to help my book hangover. (btw read ToG if you haven’t already- it helps sooo much! But then you know, your dead again because it’s another amazing series 😵). I feel you on the waiting game- but at the same time I don’t want the series to end!
    Side note/question: I read theses books at the library so I still need to buy them but idk if i can ever read ACOTAR the same way again so I was just going to buy ACOMAF. Do you think this is okay? Or is it blasphemy, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ana S. says:

      I think is fine to just get ACOMAF. I only own that as a physical copy ACOTAR I have it as a Kindle and I don’t think I’ll get the physical copy. Somehow I feel like the story has just began lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

