Kick-ass girl characters we all wish could be

When reading we cannot help but place ourselves into the main characters that we are reading about. It’s totally normal; I can assure you we ALL do it.

So when we encounter certain female characters that are just too awesome to be true, we cannot help but fangirl about them.

Don’t get me wrong all female characters are in one way or another heroine of their story, but there is a few I believe kick-ass and don’t really need a man by their side to be awesome.

That is why today I write about the ones I feel have gone above and beyond what normal female characters portray in your everyday stories and the ones we all wish we could be.

Tumblr

Tumblr

First I bring you Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

This girl is the embodiment of hero. Aside from the fact of what she really is (sorry no spoilers) she survived so much and has had to fight countless battles to bring justice to all.

I picked up this book over the summer just because there is so much buzz about this series that I knew I had to read it sometime soon. I wasn’t counting on actually loving this book just because I’ve read some reviews and I’ve seen that apparently the love interest changes every book. But gosh I loved it.

Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas

This series is quite different to what I have read and I really enjoyed that Celaena didn’t need a guy to rescue her or to help her with anything at all. She fought for herself and even though I have not finished the series I’ve read the reviews and she has kept kicking ass and being as wonderful as she was from the get go.

Another great girl that knows how to kick some ass is Katy Swartz from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Even before she was a hybrid she wasn’t a complete damsel in distress. She has wit and doesn’t let people bring her down. I know most of the time I try not to let things get to me, but sometimes I just can’t help it. But Katy knew how to deal with all that and Daemon’s mood swings.

Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout

Once she became a Hybrid I feel like she was even a better character. She knew how to defend herself. She demonstrated time and again that she could hold her ground and for that I feel like she is a super awesome character and one of my favorites of all time.

Talking about girls that are awesome even before coming into full power, there is this girl name Mare Barrow from Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series that is another wonderful example of kick-ass greatness.

When I read this book I fell in love with the story instantly. Now that I have had the time to re-read and read the sequel I can see Mare for her awesomeness clearer than I did at the beginning.

Her character is the type of character that has gone through so much just to survive but she never gives up. Just for that she is kick-ass, but then she learns of her powers.

The change is tremendous, she is in a place that is all about power and keeping a lie in the faces of others and she has to keep fighting to just survive.

Hollywood Reporter Website

Hollywood Reporter Website

Then don’t even get me started on the ending of the first book and the entire story of Glass Sword. I cannot wait for King’s Cage, because if you have heard about Red Queen or if you have read it, you know how amazing this is going to be and how great at kicking-ass Mare is.

Yet another wonderful creation by Sarah J. Maas from the A Court of Thorns and Roses is Feyre Archeron.

God am I obsessed with this series. Even though this series has only two books under its belt it has become one of the highest selling books and it obviously has one of the best female characters of all time when it comes to ass kicking.

Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas

Feyre is a huntress and she hunts to survive, just like the other previous characters. Most of these girls do what they do just to survive and that is why they come into power, but you cannot deny that what they do is freaking awesome.

Feyre saved an entire Court just by being human. Now that she is something else I cannot wait to see what she will be capable of doing. Honestly I just wish I could be her, not just because of her power, but because of the “person” she is in the story.

Last but definitely not least is another wonderful character created by Jennifer L. Armentrout (I know most of these girls are from just two authors, but they are the ones that I like the most and the ones I’ve read about.) Alexandria Andros from the Covenant series.

This girl was born to kick ass. She is a half blood, meaning she is the daughter of a half-blood and a pure, all from Greek mythology. You know Gods and Demigods and Hematoi. Since Alex is a half-blood she is a second class citizen and born to fight.

From the moment she is introduced to us she is fighting, again for survival, but still she is beating up the bad guys that threaten her life and killed her mother. She was born and raised to be a fighter and she is.

Audio Books Store

Audio Books Store

She fights for fairness and to bring equality to her people, but also to save the world. She has to jump through hoops not only to keep her friends and those she loves safe but to survive and save humanity of the greed of the gods.

Let’s also admit it, we all want to be her because of the amazing love story, her being a god killer is just a bonus.

I know there are like thousands of more kick-ass girls that should be mentioned like Katniss or Hermione, or Tris, but I will not talk about girls that I have not read about.

These girls I’ve read and re-read more than ones, I know theirs stories and I loved them, and that is the only reason why this post is just about them.

But tell me, what are some book kick-ass girls have you come around, that should have been on this post.

Let me know through Facebook or Twitter.

Read you guys later.

Leave a Reply

