When a book just doesn’t cut it

Is the most awful feeling in the whole entire world.

In the few years of my life that I have been an active reader there have been some books that look so interesting and that according to the books I been reading at the time I feel like I’m going to like.

But I’ve been wrong.

So wrong.

I have said this time and time again, I’m weird and random and sometimes the things I do make no sense not even to me. So take no offence on the books I’m about to mention just because I didn’t like them it means they are bad or that the writing is awful or anything like that.

The truth is someone believed in those books and some of them have really good reviews, but for me they were so bad that it made me hate them, but I guess we are all entitled to have our likes and dislikes and these books are some of them.

Here I bring you a few of the books that just didn’t cut it for me.

Catch me When I Fall by Vicki Leigh

In 1814, at the age of seventeen, Daniel Graham sacrificed himself to save another. Recruited at his death to be a Protector of the Night, he has spent 200 years as a Dreamcatcher, guarding humans from Nightmares—clawed, red-eyed creatures that feed off people’s fears while they sleep. He’s become one of the best, but he wants nothing more than to stop.

Then he’s given an assignment to watch over sixteen-year-old Kayla Bartlett, a clinically depressed patient in a psychiatric ward. Nightmares love a human with a tortured past. Yet, when they take a deep interest in her, appearing in unprecedented numbers, the job becomes more dangerous than any Daniel’s ever experienced—because someone with the power to control the monsters seems to want her dead.

Driven by his growing feelings for her, he whisks her away to Rome where others like him can keep her safe. Under their roof, the Protectors discover what Kayla is and why someone who can manipulate Nightmares has her in his sights. But before they can make a move, the Protectors are betrayed and Kayla is kidnapped. Daniel will stop at nothing to save her. Even if it means giving up his immortality.

He thought she was just another girl to protect. He was wrong.

Goodreads

Goodreads

This book sounded awesome didn’t it?

It just feels perfect if you love paranormal stories and reading about people in charge of someone else’s well being. But oh god it felt like punishment. To read this book was so torturous that I think I stop reading for a little while.

Something about how it was structured just wasn’t right. The idea was there, it could have been a wonderful book if it was better structured and I don’t know things didn’t happened the way they did.

Throughout the book it felt like things were moving too fast, half the time I wasn’t sure what was happening and over all I was disappointed that even though the elements for a great novel were there, the book just didn’t deliver.

Significance series by Shelly Crane

Maggie is a seventeen year old girl who’s had a bad year. Her mom left, her dad is depressed, she’s graduating, barely, and her boyfriend of almost three years dumped her for a college football scholarship. Lately she thinks life is all about hanging on by a thread and is gripping tight with everything she has.

Then she meets Caleb.

She saves his life and instantly knows there’s something about him that’s intriguing but she is supposed to be on her way to a date with his cousin. But things change when they touch, sparks ignite. Literally. They imprint with each other and she sees their future life together flash before her eyes. She learns that not only is she his soul mate, and can feel his heartbeat in her chest, but there is a whole other world of people with gifts and abilities that she never knew existed. She herself is experiencing supernatural changes unlike anything she’s ever felt before and she needs the touch of his skin to survive. Now, not only has her dad come out of his depression to be a father again, and a pain as well, but Caleb’s enemies know he’s imprinted and are after Maggie to stop them both from gaining their abilities and take her from him. Can Caleb save her or will they be forced to live without each other after just finding one another?

11731861

Goodreads

I got the first book of this series for free from the Amazon Kindle store and I was so excited to read it because it has amazing reviews on Goodreads and all the groups that I’m part of on Facebook seem to have a special liking for this book.

The thing is, book one wasn’t so bad, I almost enjoyed it because it was so compelling and it felt like something I’d never read.

But once I finished it and read the other ones it just became clear that it wasn’t my kind of book. There was too much insta everything. It is supposed to be instalove just because they are meant to be, but I just felt like Maggie was too much the Damsel in distress.

Yes I still like it when the guy risks a lot to save the girl, but in this book it just bothered me.

Who knows maybe I wasn’t in the mood for this book or I read a completely different version to everyone else. LOL.

Everblue by Brenda Pandos

She wanted her life to change… he wanted his to stay the same.

Best friends share everything with each other. Or do they? Seventeen-year-old Ashlyn Frances Lanski is tired of her boring, single life. Spending time with her best friend Tatiana, dreaming about kissing Tatiana’s twin brother Fin, and swimming competitively are her only sanctuary. The girls plan to leave their drab lakeside town far behind for college. But when Tatchi fails to return home after a family emergency, and no one knows where the family has gone, Ash chooses to do something drastic to find them.

Ashlyn is about to discover what she’d thought to be true her whole life, wasn’t, and the truth, too fantastical to imagine. Secrets lurk beneath the deep blue waters of Lake Tahoe, secrets that will change Ashlyn’s life forever.

Goodreads

Goodreads

For a while I wanted to read a book or books about marine life being real and specifically about a guy. I mean there are not very many books about merman and you know I really wanted to read about that.

This book was also free on the Kindle app and it was super excited because it is a series, so I thought it was going to be actually great.

But I was wrong.

Again there are so many great things happening for this book it could have been awesome but it just didn’t developed like it should have.

It started out great, but then Ashlyn’s character just went down the hill. Maybe the book was written in a rush or something, but there is one chapter I enjoyed about this book is when Ashlyn was in trouble and the guy came to her rescue.

So yet again another fail for me.

Shattered Rose by tammy L. Gray

“For any girl who has struggled to love herself.” –T.L. Gray

Avery Nichols knows how to wear the mask. Perfect student, perfect daughter and perfect friend. Nobody would ever guess that inside, Avery is a prisoner to her own self-loathing.

Then she meets him…and everything changes.

Handsome, charming and self-assured, Jake Matthew sweeps Avery off her feet in an effortless fashion. Avery knows that Jake is everything she needs and all she has ever wanted.

She would destroy herself to be loved by him…until he walks away.

Broken and lost, Avery meets Parker. His genuine, caring nature reaches past the mask and the shattered pieces her heart begin to slowly heal. But just when Avery starts to feel whole again, she realizes the impossible.

Jake never really left.

Goodreads

Goodreads

This book was completely misleading.

It sounds pretty good and like the beginnings of a good contemporary novel. But I was wrong.

Is not that it is about the part about “finding God” that bothered me is how the description of the book said it was going to be.

I just straight up didn’t like it. No much reason I just didn’t.

Forever Dark by Chelsea Fandon

One tragic night.
One backseat promise shattered forever.

Madison Thomas is shouldering guilt she may never forgive herself for. Her darkness has consumed her for three years and slowly seeped into every part of her life.

She’s relying on substance.

She’s trying to be brave when all she’ll ever be is bent.
Cash Bryant, a college quarterback with a promising career, wants to show Madison there’s still hope. He’s her one sliver of light that never fades.

He wants to let go. He needs to let go… before she destroys him completely.

There’s something about the girl wearing hoodies to hide her dark eyes that reminds him of the girl he fell forever in love with.

In the shadows of their blue-lit mornings, she makes him weak, steals the beat in his chest, and he’s reminded of the girl he used to know.

Goodreads

Goodreads

When I bought this book I was in the mood to read about shame and self-harming because I’m random and sometimes I’m in the mood to read weird stuff.

The premise of the book is everything I like about tragedy books and lost love and just contemporary novels with a horrible back story.

But just like all the previous ones it just wasn’t.

The self-loathing part was way too unfounded. Like there was no reason for the girl to actually feel the way she feels, or at least I didn’t think so. And then the unconditional love that Cash has for Madison is so unreal.

I just again didn’t enjoy reading this and I felt like my money was wasted.

So there you have it, the books I just didn’t like at all. Maybe I thought I was in the mood to read them and I wasn’t or they are just not the kind of book that I like.

Like I said in my previous post, the reason I read is because I like to place myself in the main girl’s position and these worlds just didn’t cut it for me.

What are the books you guys just sort of didn’t like because the description was nothing like the book or just were plain old bad in your books?

Let me know on Facebook or Twitter.

Read you guys later.

Leave a Reply

