Velvet by Temple West (book review)

Okay so, this review is not really a new review because I read Velvet last year. Since I finished the book I’ve read it about five more times so the story is super clear and always in my mind. Every time someone ask me about some of my favorite books (trust me every time, you can even ask my housemate she would testify in my favor) this book always comes up because it has become an all-time favorite of mine.

Recently I had a chance to talk to Temple West (via email, but still we talked) and she answer some questions about Velvet and her upcoming second book Cashmere. I planned on posting this last week, but I already had a teaser Tuesday about the book and I felt that might be too much for you guys.

I wanted to post the Q&A this week too, but then again I have not reviewed the book yet so you guys might not even know what book I’m talking about. That is why today you are getting the review and a little sneak peak of some of the answers she gave me just in case you are already fan of her book and want to learn more about her.

Like I said, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I should shut up and post the description, so here it is.

Velvet by Temple West

First rule of dealing with hot vampire bodyguards? Don’t fall in love.

After losing both her parents before age seventeen, aspiring designer Caitlin Holte feels like her whole world has been turned upside down, and that was before the terrifying encounter with a supernatural force. Then, she learns that her hot bad-boy neighbor, Adrian—who might have just saved her life—is actually a half-demon vampire.

Suddenly Caitlin is stuck with a vampire bodyguard who feels that the best way to protect her is to become her pretend boyfriend. Trouble is, Caitlin is starting to fall in love for real, while Adrian can never love a human. Caitlin trusts Adrian to keep her safe from his demon father, but will he be able to protect her heart?

Goodreads

Goodreads

When I bought this book it had just been released like that week. The thing is I didn’t read it that week, or the week after or that month for that matter. I truly wanted to read it because it sounded amazing but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. But one day I opened the book and I just couldn’t put it down.

At first Velvet felt like it was a bit Twilight, but I was super wrong. Yes it is about vampires, yes it is about a forbidden love and no is not like Twilight.

The vampires in the story are so much different and in many ways so much better. Caitlin is such a different character to what I’m used to reading, she seriously broke-up with the dude. What female character in a sci-fi book ever breaks up with the main guy? Yeah I cannot really recall any.

Then there is Adrian, he is so dreamy, but sort of a nerd and I loved that. He is a normal teenage guy who has feelings for someone he should not have feelings for. A guy that is been given a task that no normal guy or vampire would get. Protecting a human from a demon.

velvet-edited

Yes you read that right, in this book vampires are mostly born not made and they are born from daemons  and humans. Yeah something wicked and different right?

I loved how Adrian and Caitlin, handle everything and how they slowly fall in love. Their story is so normal, so relatable, aside from the vampire issue of course. So yes I loved it, loved it, loved it.

Cashmere (book two) is supposed to come out sometime later this year and I cannot be more excited.

One of my favorite quotes from the book is:

“I just wanted to feel close to somebody again, and it didn’t seem like too much to ask. I mean, come on! Normal people don’t have to deal with this shit! Normal people can date someone and then decide their boyfriend’s a jerk and break up and move on and they don’t have to worry that the person they move on to is going to be a psychopathic demon that wants to impregnate them! This whole thing is stupid. This situation is stupid. No shit I kissed Tommie— of course I kissed Tommie. I’m mad at you.”

Obviously this book got 5 out of 5 in my book because it was so unexpectedly good and I cannot wait for the second one. It’s gotta be epic I can feel it.

 

Now a little sneak peak of the upcoming Q&A with author Temple West, you are going to love this!

Q: How was it to get the news that it was going to be published?
A: Like learning you get to go live at Disneyland. Unbelievable and like my heart was going to burst out of my chest. It was like someone you’ve had a crush on your entire life finally admitting that they love you. That may seem melodramatic, but I remember being on the phone and getting the news and trying not to burst out into maniacal giggles.
 
You are so going to love this Q&A I learned so much from her and her train of thought about everything. She is such a funny person and you are going to find that out when I post this next week, so be on the lookout for it.

 

Leave a Reply

