Four tips to get out of a reading slump

So a few weeks ago I wrote about how you can delay finishing a book which sometimes can be harder than you’d think. Now, I’m ashamed to admit that I have been in a reading slump for the last couple of months (probably because I had to avoid finishing a book). It totally sucks, but I’m on my last semester in college and you would have thought that I would have it easy and more relax, but nope. I have two part-time jobs and I’m full time student so reading time it’s been pretty limited. Also there is Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime and all this things that distract me from getting some reading done.

Tumblr

Tumblr

In the past, the ways I get out of reading slumps has never been the same. Sometimes I just have to keep reading and it will go away. Other times it’s trickier and usually takes a combination of things to help me read and enjoy it more. That’s why I’m bringing you the four things that help me the most when trying to get out of a reading slump.

Tumblr

Tumblr

  1. Read a book you already love.

When nothing seems to interest me reading wise I re-read something by one of my favorite authors or a book that I have absolutely loved in the past. Doing this reminds me why I love reading and it gets me back in the game.

Tumblr

Tumblr

  1. Try something different.

If you have a go to genera and you rarely branch out, that might be your problem. Sometimes you have to read something that’s a little out of your comfort zone perhaps if you only read romance, you should try something like sci-fi, or if you only read dystopian young adult novels, try contemporary new adult ones instead. By trying something different your book selection broadens and you have more options to swoon over.

Tumblr

Tumblr

  1. Just keep reading.

Try to find books that sound interesting and give them a shot. You might not like them, but it definitely helps with getting you back in the rhythm of reading. Just read, most of the time that is what helps the most, just keep doing it. But don’t do it for hours in a day, try 10 to 20 minutes of reading and then if you are not into the book stop and try the next day.

Tumblr

Tumblr

  1. Take a break.

I know that sounds awful because your TBR list won’t read itself but you might just need a break. I mean I know I just said streaming television is a distraction, but it might be what you need. If you have tried to read way too much or forced yourself to read, it might be time for a break. Watch some TV, watch a movie, or just chill with your friends for a bit. I’m talking a week or so, not much because like I said, your TBR list won’t be reading itself. This break should clear out your mind and while watching a show on Netflix or wherever you might find some sort of topic that interests you and that will probably spike your interest for reading something similar to what you just watch and that will bring you back to books.

Tumblr

Tumblr

So that’s what I do most of the time, like right now, I started to read the Covenant series by Jennifer L. Armentrout again because after I read After the Fall by Clarissa Lusk I just haven’t been up to reading anything new so I started with something else I loved. Also I’m finally watching Stranger Things on Netflix and that helps a lot with the kind of books I want to read next.

What are some of the things you do when you are in a reading slump?

Read you later!

3 thoughts on “Four tips to get out of a reading slump

  1. Sara Giboney says:

    I’m definitely in a reading slump right now. I’ve started a few books over the last few months that didn’t keep me interested. Then I started rewatching Gilmore Girls on Netflix (don’t judge), and I haven’t made the time to read. I just reserved In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware at the library. Hopefully a little suspense will get me out of my slump!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

