Books that are too real to be fiction

Every once in a while comes a book that makes me feel all the feels and just makes me love reading even more. Those books are the so realistic books that sometimes I have to pause and analyze everything that happened. Sometimes I even find myself looking for a disclaimer that says “based on real events” or something of the sorts, because it feels so real that you are left speechless.

And while reading those books is one of my favorite thing, more often than not, I have to stop myself from getting to engaged into those stories because it feels like I’m actually being told the story by the person whose life events and situations I’m reading. It’s so weird. And even though is fiction I still cannot wrap my head around how an author can write in such a way to make me feel all the feels and even make me cry.

Since I love this books and I want you guys to feel and cry with me for these few overly realistic books I bring you the four that made me feel like I was actually living the events of the novel and made me wonder what was wrong with the world. Don’t worry these books will only make you cry, laugh and say “this is so me” that you will hate me and them forever, but not really, just for a little bit.

Tumblr

Tumblr

When I first read Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, I had already fallen in love with this awesome writer. I mean she is from the same state I live in and the places she described in most of her novels including Eleanor and Park are places I’d already seen (but obviously not in the eighties because I was not alive), or driven by and it made it feel more… real for me. But it’s not just because I’ve been to the specific locations it describes, but also because the way it’s written.

Entertainment Weekly

Entertainment Weekly

I mean if you’ve read this book you probably know what I’m talking about. There are not very many clichés, there is no rich boy or girl, there is no sports jock, and there is not even the make-over transformation. Yes there are body issues, as well as poverty, but it’s realistic. It’s so hard to explain without giving much information or spoilers (I don’t want to spoil the book for you if you have not read it yet) because this novel has so many real life elements, it deals with abuse, how it is to fall in love for the first time, it even dwells into what happens when you have to say goodbye to that first love. This book seriously is a book everybody needs to read even if contemporary books are not their thing.

Amazon

Amazon

Another book that made a huge impact for me and that made me feel like I was reading a based on true events story is Mick Harte Was Here by Barbara Park. This book, oh god this book, it had me crying more often than not. When I first read this book I was still in high school and we had to read something for my English class, I just grabbed this book because it was short and I wasn’t an active reader back then. But even with only 86 pages it made such an impact in my life even now. I remember finishing the book and looking at the back for some sort of disclaimer that said the book had been based on a real story, but there was not.

Author Barbara Park of The Junie B. Jones book series. Photo courtesy of Barbara Park

Author Barbara Park of The Junie B. Jones book series. Photo courtesy of Barbara Park

This book is about a kid that died (not a spoiler because it’s latterly how the book begins) and it dives into how a family can tries to keep going after an important member of the family passed away. I remember there is a scene that will forever live in my memory and it’s with Mick’s sister, Phebe comes into his room for the first time since he died and sees his mirror and there is such an amazing flashback that it was the very first time I cried reading a book.

 

In all honestly if you have not read this book you have to do it now, you will not regret it (maybe a little if you have kids or if you cry easily while reading, but it’s totally worth it). If I had to choose a book to recommend to anyone that is looking for a short story, this would be the book I recommend. With only 86 pages it will make you feel like you were part of the chaos that family lived through after Mick died.

Goodreads

Goodreads

Also a very realistic book I thought was well written and relatable is The DUFF by Kody Keplinger. Yesterday I posted how much I hated what Hollywood did to this book when it comes to book to movie adaptations, but this story is still one of my favorite stories of all time. When I read this book I was just starting to get passionate about reading and once I finished it I knew I had to keep reading if most books were as good as this. And though this is a “young adult” contemporary, it is for those teens that have already read about sex and other graphic stuff.

 Courtesy of: Henry Stampfel

Courtesy of:
Henry Stampfel

What I loved most about this book is how; there was not insta-love, there is no giving anything up for anybody and how well it portraits high school. It definitely describes well enough what high school kids are going through and how they would deal with those kinds of problems. They make decisions based on their experiences and most of the time those decisions are stupid, and that is exactly what makes this book so real it’s hard to believe is fiction.

Amazon

Amazon

Last, but definitely not least the wonderful novel by Colleen Hoover’s (This week’s author of the week) It Ends With Us. Where to even begin with this book, at first I was afraid to read because of the kind of context that it gave. I mean my mother and I went through a similar situation to what the character of the book went through and just because of that I just felt it too real to be fiction. Then Mrs. Hoover went on and explained that the inspiration for the book was related to a situation someone close to her had gone through and I loved the book even more.

Simon & Schuster

Simon & Schuster

The book is about an abusive relationship and how the main character deals with it and when it’s time to say enough is enough. I don’t really want to dive into this book because it’s still a little too close to home and I don’t want to go on and on about how realistic this book feels. Just know that in the history or realistic contemporary novels that I’ve read I have never been too connected with one and hated so much at the same time for what it made me feel.

Simon & Schuster

Simon & Schuster

So there you have it, there are some novels out there that are too real to be fiction and I just gave you a short list because those are the ones I love the. Tell me what books have stuck with you the most no matter how real or how fiction they are? You can tweet me or comment on my Facebook.

Tumblr

Tumblr

Read you guys later.

P.S. I will be doing a small amazon gift card giveaway soon, so stay tuned to my twitter, Facebook and to the blog!

Leave a Reply

