Why Hollywood, why?

Let’s admit it, we love books and as much as we always say we don’t want our favorite book to be turn into a movie, we know we are lying to ourselves. The truth is we would love to see our favorite book characters in color and motion. Seeing it happen and unfold is one of the best things we can experience as readers. Nothing better than seeing the characters we love and obsessed over as clear as we imagined them, real and not just in our heads.

The problem lately is that Hollywood has gotten book to movie adaptations wrong. Many great novels have been ruined by Hollywood’s attempt to make a profit. Just think of how many films based on movies have bombed in the past five years. This has got to stop because Hollywood cannot stop playing with our little readers’ hearts and also, because if book to movie adaptations keep bombing, then book to movie adaptations will decrease to the point that the chance of our favorite books to make it into a motion picture will be slim to none.

Just of the top of my head I can think of ten movies that were based off books that have been anything but successful in the box office. So it makes me wonder, why? Why are so many book-to-movie adaptations bombing if there is a fan base already attached to the novels?

Well I’m not a movie expert or finance person either, but when you love books and movies as much as I do, I feel like I know something that it’s been kept from the Hollywood scene when it comes to adaptations. Like seriously they ruin a lot of motion picture adaptations when they can simply listen to fans opinions, read the books, or even get in touch with the author to have them at least look over the script. I mean those are simple things that Hollywood producers seem to not be doing.

Facebook

Facebook

Last week the book world got the news that Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas was going to become a TV show. When I read the news release I got all excited, but then I started thinking and I realized that there is a long list of adaptations that I have not necessarily hated, but were in no way anything like the book. So today I bring you the book to movie adaptations I liked but hated what they did as “adaptation.”

One book I was overly excited about becoming a film was The Duff by Kody Keplinger. The book was so realistic and so unique to the story; something new that I felt Hollywood could not mess up. But oh they did, the movie was so far off from the book that if they had call it “the girl” or “high school” it could have probably made more sense.

Amazon

Amazon

The movie was nothing more than a high school cliché of how the jock falls in love with a sarcastic nerd. I felt so disappointed and so betrayed by this so called “book adaptation,” I wanted to scream. How can they mess something up so much, I mean did they even asked the author what she thought about the script? If they would have done that, the result could have been better.

theduffmovie.com

theduffmovie.com

Other disappointment that has driven people mad not once but twice now, is the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Hollywood ruined this adaptation the first time when they decided to do a film, but not happy enough that the film was awfully done and highly criticized not only by movie reviewers but by fans of book as well. They went and tried to do a television show, where the special effects were horrible, the casting was pathetic and the storyline was the worst script ever.

Amazon

Amazon

I kept watching the show in hopes that as it went on it would get better, but it never did. It got to the point to even like the movie way better than the show because in my personal opinion I felt like they had stuck to the book way more than the show. Whenever I watched the show, it felt like this series was the cast first gig and that they were just picked out of the streets and asked if they wanted to do a television show. I honestly don’t know why they made it to the second season honestly.

MTV

MTV

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl is a movie that I will admit I loved. I thought the concept was great, but my love was short lived because I watched the film before I read the books.

Goodreads

Goodreads

Once I actually read the books I still liked the film because it was something different to what we usually see in teen movies, but I also understood the fan base of the series point. The film left so much out of the book and the script was just terrible and along with the awful casting the film just wasn’t destined to make it big. Seriously is it too hard to ask the author for assistance or even consider fans’ opinion?

Collider

Collider

Another great book that I was so excited to see in full motion and color is the Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. That movie, oh God where to even begin.

Goodreads

Goodreads

I went to see the movie not expecting much because let’s admit it, the vampire movie success ship sailed a long time ago, but the book was great so I kind of wanted to see if they could do it justice, but oh no, no, no, no. It was so terrible, the acting was just… ugh, awful and the way it was put together, not even good special effects. It was just a disaster, I was like, seriously Hollywood, why even try if you are not going to try your best?

Richelle Mead

Richelle Mead

So yeah this are just four of the most disastrous book to movie adaptations that I could think of, but obviously there are many, many more adaptations that seem promising and end up being just part of the awful statistic. You guys had some strong opinions about some of the adaptations that I mentioned before and some of you hated those and many other adaptations. Here is what some of you hated:

part1

part2

part3

Book to movie adaptations such as, Divergent, Twilight, Fifty Shades of Grey, Percy Jackson, the Chronicles of Narnia, and well a string of many others, had great potential. Stories that I honestly don’t really understand how Hollywood royally messed them up. Seriously I just can’t see how they got it so wrong.

The solution to this problem has always been clear to me, I don’t know how Hollywood doesn’t think of doing this, a few simple fixes to have a successful book to movie adaptation at least the way I see it: listen to the fans, try to get the author’s input, don’t just buy the rights to the book and never talk to the author again. If possible hire author to do script, or as a consultant, films like Harry Potter and the Perks of Being a Wallflower were successful because the author was heavily involved in the production and post production of the film. The author of the Fifty Shades of Grey books was heavily involved in the filming of the first movie and it was very successful movie, it might not have been as good as an adaptation as others, but it was still good and successful.

Someone really needs to do a reality check to those movie producers so that they stop ruining or destroying something as wonderful as books in their fame and fortune pursue.

Tumblr

Tumblr

What book to movie or TV show adaptation has disappointed you the most so far?

Tweet me or tell me on Facebook, or simply leave a comment below.

Read you later!

Leave a Reply

