Between Hearts: A Romance Anthology, Seventeen Wishes ARC Review

ARC provided for an honest review.

So this weekend was a pretty amazing weekend. I got an advanced reader’s copy of the anthology Between Hearts by various authors and I got to read some really nice and romantic stories. There was one downfall to it though, I had tickets to go to a Charlie Puth concert at the state fair and I just couldn’t completely concentrate on reading this great compilation of short romance stories. I mean it was Charlie Puth, not like I could pass on that I have a social life too you know?!

Goodreads

Goodreads

The one story that I did get to read and the one that I was most excited about was, Seventeen Wishes by Erica Alexander. Once I opened the book and read the little descriptions of the short stories that are included in the anthology, Seventeen Wishes caught my attention.

            “Zac and Lilly are best friends and he loves her more than life itself. But Zac is keeping a secret. Both his struggles and love are unknown to Lilly. When secrets turn into a life and death choice are they still secrets or just plain lies?”

I mean doesn’t that sound like something everyone should read right away?

Well I did and it was amazing. The Story is focused on obviously Zac and Lilly and Zac’s struggle to keep Lilly out of the situation he is in, while at the same time keeping her close (you have no idea how hard it is for me to not reveal any spoilers right now).

This story is so perfect, it might be short, but it’s well written, it takes you right in and it makes you feel like you are part of it. It’s full of hope and it’ is just what you need when you are feeling down and need to believe there is hope in this world, even if it is a fictional world. The story is so relatable and in a sense it makes it feel like no matter what you do, no matter what people or doctors tell you, fate has a path for you and when you trust it just enough it might bring a surprise.

            “You are my reason to be.

             My reason to breathe.

             The reason my stubborn, broken heart still beats.”

Goodreads

Goodreads

As much as I want to give you more and tell you all of what I loved about the story this is as deep as I’ll get. The previous line was from a letter Lilly gets from Zac and it is very emotional to say the least. It’s incredible how such a short story can hit you right in the feels.

But like nothing is perfect no matter how hard we want it to be, there is one thing I didn’t like about this story. It was a tad bit overly sexual in some parts, I mean is not like I have not read about sex and about desire and stuff, but I just felt like sometimes it was a bit to explicit for a short story that was about a sick guy and a girl that didn’t really know the extent of the illness. But then again, everything that needed to happen was packed in really short chapters so there needed to be some explicit content included.

I would give this story 4 out of 5 stars just because I wasn’t all that comfortable with the desire and lust  parts (I know is weird since I’ve read Fifty Shades. But like I said before I’m really random. LOL). But seriously people you need to read all the short stories, (I’m on my fifth short story and I only got it Friday Night. It might not seem like a lot, but like I said I haven’t had that much time I mean CHARLIE PUTH WAS IN MY TOWN I HAD TO GO SEE HIM) and if you only read one story out of the anthology let it be Seventeen Wishes. And if/when you buy it, the proceeds go to bookworm box which then they donate the money to charity so you will be making a good deed.

Between Hearts: A Romance Anthology goes live Thursday September 8, you can pre-order here.

HAPPY READING!

Leave a Reply

